h1

Maid Marian

June 22, 2007

The lyrics to Maid Marian from Page McConnell’s new CD are very relevant to my situation.

Hesitating as you pulled the rug from me,
heading toward the ground and reaching for the curtains.
Can’t relate because I’m only trying to see,
if instead of me, I could have been more certain.

Such a different way to play the thing,
such a difficult thing to say,
to someone that you care for.
All’s forgotten they can say it if they please
still I lay awake, all the way to daybreak

But I won’t let myself go there again
’cause I’m not falling through thin air again
but I’m not looking for Maid Marian

Such a desperate way to trade your wings
for your 18 inch spinnin’ rims
with neon underneath you
Past the last goodbye in laps of luxury
with my history a couple cars behind me

But I won’t let myself go there again
’cause I’m not falling through thin air again
but I’m not looking for Maid Marian

Circumnavigated feelings weigh on me
Explanations from a door without a key
Should I try to understand or should I try to be?

Expectations taken you away from me
Opportunity it sounded good in theory
Calculations seldom come with guarantees
What I really want is someone that can hear me.

Such a different way of playing it.
If you’d only take time to see
you’re everything you should be
Fleeting feelings feed the longing quality
to experience emotions deep inside me

But I won’t let myself go there again
’cause I’m not falling through thin air again
you don’t have to be Maid Marian
I’m not looking for Maid Marian
’cause I’m not marrying Maid Marian

One comment

  1. I love that song. Something about it tells me I relate to it too, but I’m not sure I understand why. Does it have something to do with Robin Hood?
    Interested in your thoughts.. I’ll check back. 🙂



Leave a Reply

