h1

Let there be songs to fill the air

January 1, 2009

2009 is off to a good start. The Dead announced a tour in the Spring, their first tour in four years. Bobby, Phil, Mickey and Billy will be joined with Jeff Chimenti from Ratdog on the keyboards and and one of my of my all time favorite and perhaps the most underrated guitar players of all time, Warren Haynes. I’m a little disappointed that only three shows take place west of the Rockies. One show in Denver, one in L.A. and one in Mountain View. Not exactly ‘tour’ friendly for those of us on the West coast. In any case, I’m going to the L.A. show, ticket or not. I haven’t had a good Shakedown Street experience in years. To me, it’s almost as fun and entertaining as the actual show. Can’t wait to get some good veggie burritos, goo balls and join in a drum circle.

One comment

  1. I was in a much worse off position than you last year at this time… I was a Deadhead in Alaska. # of times Ratdog and Phil & Friends have played there: zilch.

    Glad you’re gonna get to the Los Angeles area show … the Forum they’re referring to is the one in Inglewood, right? Oh, I’d love to be there!

    But ya can’t blame ’em for not being exactly tour friendly, can ya? I mean Old Man Phil’s gotta be about what? 85, 88 years old now? Nahh, he’s still rockin but if this tour never happened and Phil called it quits, I’d not be surprised and I’d even be happy for him, so’s he can just kick back and relax!

    See ya!



Leave a Reply

