h1

Nevada’s proposed budget cuts to higher education

January 22, 2009

I’m linking to a post made by one of my colleagues, Nancy Rapport about the budget crisis in Nevada.

I came to Nevada over 10 years ago with the specific purpose of establishing the William S. Boyd School of Law, Nevada’s only law school. I saw the school grow from literally nothing to what it is today. Way back in ’98, we didn’t even have our permanent quarters. We had a few offices and the staff lounge in the physics department. We then moved to the old Paradise Elementary school for a few years and finally here to the UNLV campus. I’m very proud of my professional as well as institutional accomplishments here. Now it appears the education system in Nevada is going to take a HUGE step back. I’ve done all I could to prevent it. I’ve contacted my state legislator, Dennis Nolan, as well as Dina Titus and Harry Reid. Nevada is already behind statues like Alabama and Mississippi in term of amount spent and quality of education. Now it looks as though Nevada will permanently be last.

Leave a Reply

